top of page

The Art of Story Telling & Developing Interactive Idea

When telling a story don’t just tell it make sure it has a realistic element and can relate to people, Monsters Inc. isn’t a story about a monster scaring people it’s the story of him becoming a “father”.

Vivid Memory I Have – As a kid my family and I would go to Portsmouth dockyard, I was fascinated by boats and water it just fascinated me. We were walking up the HMS Victory Lord Nelsons Flag ship for his fleet in many battles and the infamous Battle of Trafalgar. There was a barrier of clean fresh sea air and the musty smell inside the ship it was a nice smell, it smelt old and you could feel the history when touching the old historic wood. My brother and I would run up and down the decks shouting orders at each other “man the cannons” and “FIRE”. We would stand by the main wheel at the stern and say command on where to steer; this time in my life was a joyful and exciting experience.

Why I Remember This Memory - I remember this memory so well is because it was a family day out and It was a special time for me as at the time I was fascinated in the sea and it was showing me how great life can be with the adventure and excitement. I love day out with my family as we can share a good laugh together which is an amazing feeling when you are with people you love and are enjoying something you love together and that is the adventure that every human craves doing things for the first time and for me it was touching and smelling history.

Three Favourite Films

  1. Butch Cassidy & The Sun Dance Kid

  2. James Bond Sky fall

  3. The Edge of Seventeen

I connected with Butch Cassidy and The Sun Dance Kid is because it’s the relationship Butch shares with The Sun Dance Kid there is a kind of brotherhood they always stick by each others side. I share this with my family we don’t back down we want to stick by each other. I connected with James Bond Sky fall as it shows his solitude and loneliness through out the film and through this film he builds his strength back up and I went through a tough time not quite the same situation but I feel it shows how I got through my struggle. Finally I relate to The Edge of Seventeen because she goes through the period of thinking everyone hates her and she is doing stupid things and I have been through a stage of everyone hating me and I did stupid things to get myself out of it which didn’t work, all I needed to do was apologise and move on.

Three Favorite Films in What if Statement

  1. What if you and your best friend decide to rob a train?

  2. What if your best agent gets too old for the job?

  3. What if your best mate goes out with your brother?

Come up with your own What Ifs

  1. What if you had the chance to touch ancient history?

  2. What if you woke up and you was suddenly alone?

  3. What if your family was murdered and you had to solve the crime?

  4. What if you to finally leave your hostage cell you had to choose between killing your best mate, and answering a 50/50 chance question?

  5. What if you died but could see everyone’s reaction to your death?

  6. What if all technology stopped and earth was plunged into the dark ages again?

  7. What if your consciousness was an imagination?

World & Characters

Butch Cassidy and the Sun dance Kid - The title explain its self, the main characters are Butch Cassidy and the Sun Dance Kid. Butch Cassidy is the main character what everyone has come to see the film about, and you identify him as that because hes in most of the main emotional and action scenes. The movie takes place in a western town. I feel it takes place in multiple world because they will be in a quite western town in the Bolivia and then robbing the Union Pacific Overland Train.

James Bond's SKYFALL main character is James Bond played by Daniel Craig. The character in this installment to the Bond series is broken and fragile, also the MI6 are debating whether he too old for the job. This film takes play in many world in Bonds mental state and in different surroundings like Shanghai and The United Kingdom.

Mixing Characters in Different Films

If Butch Cassidy was to turn up in The Edge of Seventeen there would be a big anachronism, it works both ways. A 1890's western train robber turning up in 2017 would be shocked by the modern world as well as, if the main character turns up in 1890 she would be trying to use her phone or any technology which is a anachronism.

1. What if Butch Cassidy woke up in Nadine's world?

2. What if Nadine walked into Butch Cassidy's life looking for wi-fi?

30 Second Clip idea

Plot - Plot – A hostage has to make a bitter decision to save his own life, he either chooses to kill his best mate to walk free, or answer a question which could mean life or death for him.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page